Banner image

ANU Green is the University's operational program for management of its environmental sustainability efforts. Within ANU Green are two sister programs – the Environmental Management Plan and the Below Zero Program.  

Environmental Management Plan (EMP) 2022-’25 provides an approach to improve environmental sustainability across its Acton campus and regional sites. The EMP has six pillars: greenhouse gas mitigation, energy management, water management, built environment, circular economy, and biodiversity and conservation. The EMP has several short- and medium-term objectives to assist the University in reaching its sustainability ambitions.  

The Below Zero Program aims to reduce the University's carbon footprint by leading programs that reduce or remove the emissions associated with its activities. These programs seek to address the institutional, operational and behavioural mechanisms for change and drive innovation by integrating research and teaching. Our long-term ambition is to be below zero emissions from our operations and value-chain (scopes 1,2, and 3) by 2040 with an interim goal of carbon neutrality for direct on-campus and energy-related emissions (scopes 1 and 2) for part of 2025 (pilot) and from 2026 onwards.

The Below Zero Program Strategic Plan (PDF, 360 KB) has been informed by:

Below Zero Advisory Committee

The Below Zero Advisory Committee meets three times per year and is comprised of high-level internal and external stakeholders, who contribute to the success of Below Zero, by providing objective advice and guidance to support Program decision-making. The Committee keeps partners and community members informed and engaged with Below Zero, and represent Below Zero to different stakeholders groups, both inside and outside the University.  

Membership of the Advisory Committee is voluntary and is extended by invitation.  

NameRolePosition on Committee
Ms Naomi Flutter ANU Pro-Chancellor and Council member and Executive GM, Corporate Affairs, Wesfarmers Co-chair
Professor Frank Jotzo Director, Centre for Climate Economics & Policy – ANU Crawford School of Public Policy, Head of Energy, Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions – ANU Co-chair
Ms Sophia Hamblin Wang ACT Climate Change Council member, COO of Mineral Carbonisation International External member
Dr Ken Henry Former Treasury Secretary External member
Mr Geoffrey Rutledge Deputy Director-General, Environment, Water and Emissions Reduction – ACT Government External member
Ms Lucy Arthur Director – Centre for Learning and Teaching ANU member
Professor Andrew MacIntosh Professor – ANU College of Law ANU member
Professor Mark Howden Director, Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions – ANU Ex officio member
Wren Somerville ANUSA Environment Officer Ex officio member